IBM PC

My second computer was a genuine IBM-PC.  Two floppy drives, a color monitor, but no hard drive!  In 1983 it cost about $5500.

ibm-pc1

Hey ... where's the mouse?

While I’ve been on a retrocomputing kick, I decided to try to see what it takes to emulate an original IBM PC.  I found Pico-XT, which runs on Windows.  (I’d rather have one that runs on Linux.)  Since I’m running Ubuntu, I used Wine and had to chuckle.

Then I needed a floppy disk.  I downloaded a ton from The Boot Disk Project.  I started with MS-DOS 3.30.  It didn’t work the first time and I realized I had to convert it from a 1.44MB floppy to a 360k.  I did that with WinImage.  It requires that you open the original image file and pull down “Image / Change Format”, select 360k, then save.

When Wine opens Pico-XT, you must pull down ‘File / Floppy Drive A: / Insert”, then choose the floppy filename.  Here’s what it looks like.

pico-xt

My next project is to take an image file from my Mom’s old office PC and get it to work in the emulator.  I made it with dd, but it doesn’t seem to be a format recognized by Pico-XT yet nor WinImage.

Update

Special thanks to my neighbor Vince who just gave me a 5150 that he rescued from a dumpster.  I’m going to try to see if it works.

Leave a Reply

